My Favorite Beginning of the Year Books

The Traveling Preacher's Wife
2 min readJul 24, 2021

I have several books that I like to read to the students during the first couple of weeks. One book that I discovered in the last few years is “Aiden McGee Gets a Case of the Actually’s”. This is a story about a very smart boy that wants to correct everyone around him, including his teacher. In the end, his doctor mom writes him a prescription to help think before speaking. He needs to ask himself, “Is it necessary, is it true, and is it kind?” before blurting out his advice. Best of all it’s free if you have Kindle on Amazon!

This is great for gifted students because many LOVE to show others how smart they are at the expense of others. There are many thought provoking questions that be used in a class discussion. I constantly remind my students to not brag on themselves. They need to allow others to brag on them. This is something I taught my own personal children. There are not many people who enjoy listening to others brag on themselves. On days when we have done amazingly fun activities, aka everyday, I remind my students not to go back to their homeroom and show off or brag about what they got to do. Hopefully, this sticks with them throughout their lives and serves them well.

Here are some more great books that I will tell more about as the year progresses.

Aiden McGee Gets a Case of the Actually’s

  1. What Do You Do With an Idea?
  2. What Do You Do With a Problem?
  3. What Do You Do With a Chance?
  4. Maybe
  5. Rosie Revere, Engineer
  6. Rosie Revere’s Big Project Book for Bold Engineers
  7. Ada Twist, Scientist
  8. Ada Twist’s Big Project Book for Stellar Scientists
  9. Iggy Peck, Architect
  10. Iggy Peck’s Big Project Book for Amazing Architects
  11. Sofia Valdez, Future Prez
  12. Aiden McGee Gets a Case of the Actually’s

--

--

The Traveling Preacher's Wife

I am a preacher’s wife, mom to 3 great kids, and a teacher beginning my 30th year to teach.I have taught pre-k DD, k, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 6th, music and gifted.